[SOLVED] Black screen
Hi. I'm a Linux newbie trying to install snakeoil-x86_64-0.1.5 on a Mitac PD10RI (Intel DN2800MT3) motherboard. The last output to the LCD screen is "starting web server lighttpd" and then just a black screen. Am I doing something wrong?

(23-Mar-2017, 03:35 AM)PSSO Wrote: Hi. I'm a Linux newbie trying to install snakeoil-x86_64-0.1.5 on a Mitac PD10RI (Intel DN2800MT3) motherboard. The last output to the LCD screen is "starting web server lighttpd" and then just a black screen. Am I doing something wrong?

That don't sound right, you should at least get a login screen like this:

[Image: Login_Prompt.png]

Here are somethings you can try: 
  1. Try to ping this machine from another computer by running the following command. If you see a reply from this that means the machine is working and you can start installation. Follow the instructions outlined here: Link.
    Code:
    ping snakeoil.local
  2. Can you go into your BIOS and change boot from UEFI to BIOS and see if that works? 
  3. Try connecting your monitor to the onboard HDMI/VGA port instead of your dedicated GPU. Perhaps the ISO don't have support for your GPU.
Let me know how it goes. thanks.
Snakeoil Operating System - Music, your way!

It's a installation from scratch (using Live CD (USB)), so the system is not up and running.
Boot in the BIOS is set to BIOS
I have connected a monitor to the onboard VGA port - same problem. Then I connected a monitor to the onboard HDMI port - again same problem.

According to the docummenation I should see a Welcome menu where I can choose between "Try Ubuntu" and "Install Ubuntu", but that never happens.

Maybe there is a problem with the graphics driver or resulution.

Can you ping snakeoil.local from another computer?

yes, I can ping snakeoil.local and I can also connect to the web interface. Can I do a installation from the web interface ?