Snakeoil Forums

Full Version: Raspberry Pi 3B+ : Support for Allo DigiOne (Signature)
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2 3 4
Hi there

I am wondering what sort of HAT is supported as there must be a bunch of potential Raspberry Pi user looming around?  I am currently testing out ver 1.1.3.  What I am trying to achieve is to use Lumin app (from iPad) to feed music to the Pi that has the Allo's DigiOne Signature.

I am not seeing the Allo supported in Music Player - ALSA Output Devices

Any insight would be helpful, thanks in advance.

Cheers
You need to add the overlay for the Allo DigiOne Signature to /boot/config.txt.. (any device supported by current kernel should work)
If you ssh into your pi running Snakeoil and run...
Code:
nano /boot/overlays/README
you should find the dtoverlay that applies.
See here for  how I added the dtoverlay for a HiFiBerry digi+Pro.  I2S and I2C lines need to be activated too...
https://www.snakeoil-os.net/forums/Threa...01#pid1901

whilst ssh in run...
Code:
 
sudo raspi-config 
and activate I2S and I2C
https://pimylifeup.com/raspi-config-tool/
(19-Mar-2019, 06:27 PM)Bromf Wrote: [ -> ]You need to add the overlay for the Allo DigiOne Signature to /boot/config.txt.. (any device supported by current kernel should work)
If you ssh into your pi running Snakeoil and run...
Code:
nano /boot/overlays/README
you should find the dtoverlay that applies.
See here for  how I added the dtoverlay for a HiFiBerry digi+Pro.  I2S and I2C lines need to be activated too...
https://www.snakeoil-os.net/forums/Threa...01#pid1901

whilst ssh in run...
Code:
sudo raspi-config 
and activate I2S and I2C
https://pimylifeup.com/raspi-config-tool/ 

Thanks a lot Bromf !!
You're most welcome...
I am off for my 'ugly' sleep now but will check back in the morning to see how it went... Smile
(19-Mar-2019, 07:08 PM)Bromf Wrote: [ -> ]You're most welcome...
I am off for my 'ugly' sleep now but will check back in the morning to see how it went... Smile

Sweet dreams Bromf, thanks for your input.

Somehow, I put in the dtoverlay=allo-digione & enabled I2S and I2C in the CONFIG.TXT by removing the #(which is valid as this is in the README file), but in RASPI-CONFIG, interface sub-menu, there is no tab for I2S, only I2C, SPI, SSH etc.  In the web interface SNAKEOIL/    ALSA Output Devices, Client is still in RED cannot start client

grateful for any input, thx
Ah... yes I was going from memory there....no I2S to activate in raspi-config you are correct.
Have you entered allo-digione as the Name in Alsa Configuration in the Music Player tab of the Snakeoil web interface and rebooted ?

Can you post the full content of /boot/config.txt

Currently my kernel line in /boot/config.txt shows..
Code:
kernel=kernel-4.14.66-rt40-pi-snakeoil
(20-Mar-2019, 02:38 AM)Bromf Wrote: [ -> ]Ah... yes I was going from memory there....no I2S to activate in raspi-config you are correct.
Have you entered allo-digione as the Name in Alsa Configuration in the Music Player tab of the Snakeoil web interface and rebooted ?

Can you post the full content of /boot/config.txt

Currently my kernel line in /boot/config.txt shows..
Code:
kernel=kernel-4.14.66-rt40-pi-snakeoil

Here you go, thanks in advance !
Code:
 
# For more options and information see
# http://rpf.io/configtxt
# Some settings may impact device functionality. See link above for details
kernel=kernel-4.14.66-rt40-pi-snakeoil
# uncomment if you get no picture on HDMI for a default "safe" mode
#hdmi_safe=1

# uncomment this if your display has a black border of unused pixels visible
# and your display can output without overscan
#disable_overscan=1

# uncomment the following to adjust overscan. Use positive numbers if console
# goes off screen, and negative if there is too much border
#overscan_left=16
#overscan_right=16
#overscan_top=16
#overscan_bottom=16

# uncomment to force a console size. By default it will be display's size minus
# overscan.
#framebuffer_width=1280
#framebuffer_height=720

# uncomment if hdmi display is not detected and composite is being output
#hdmi_force_hotplug=1

# uncomment to force a specific HDMI mode (this will force VGA)
#hdmi_group=1
#hdmi_mode=1

# uncomment to force a HDMI mode rather than DVI. This can make audio work in
# DMT (computer monitor) modes
#hdmi_drive=2

# uncomment to increase signal to HDMI, if you have interference, blanking, or
# no display
#config_hdmi_boost=4

# uncomment for composite PAL
#sdtv_mode=2

#uncomment to overclock the arm. 700 MHz is the default.
#arm_freq=800

# Uncomment some or all of these to enable the optional hardware interfaces
dtparam=i2c_arm=on
dtparam=i2s=on
#dtparam=spi=on
# Uncomment this to enable the lirc-rpi module
#dtoverlay=lirc-rpi

# Additional overlays and parameters are documented /boot/overlays/README

# Enable audio (loads snd_bcm2835)
dtparam=audio=off
#enable_uart=1
dtoverlay=allo-digione

start_x=0
From my previous post...."Have you entered allo-digione as the Name in Alsa Configuration in the Music Player tab of the Snakeoil web interface and rebooted ?" ??

Not sure about the line in your boot/config.txt
Code:
start_x=0

This does not appear in mine.
(20-Mar-2019, 08:19 AM)Bromf Wrote: [ -> ]From my previous post...."Have you entered allo-digione as the Name in Alsa Configuration in the Music Player tab of the Snakeoil web interface and rebooted ?" ??

Not sure about the line in your boot/config.txt
Code:
start_x=0

This does not appear in mine. 

I did put down the "allo-digione" into the Music Player and rebooted, but it was shown in red, [HW:0,0], and mpd is not started nor I can launch "mpd --version" in command line.

below is from aplay -L 
Code:
 
null
    Discard all samples (playback) or generate zero samples (capture)
default:CARD=sndallodigione
    snd_allo_digione,
    Default Audio Device
sysdefault:CARD=sndallodigione
    snd_allo_digione,
    Default Audio Device
dmix:CARD=sndallodigione,DEV=0
    snd_allo_digione,
    Direct sample mixing device
dsnoop:CARD=sndallodigione,DEV=0
    snd_allo_digione,
    Direct sample snooping device
hw:CARD=sndallodigione,DEV=0
    snd_allo_digione,
    Direct hardware device without any conversions
plughw:CARD=sndallodigione,DEV=0
    snd_allo_digione,
    Hardware device with all software conversions

I will try to burn a fresh sd card and try from scratch and report back.   Big Grin

(20-Mar-2019, 10:56 AM)bernardhung Wrote: [ -> ]
(20-Mar-2019, 08:19 AM)Bromf Wrote: [ -> ]From my previous post...."Have you entered allo-digione as the Name in Alsa Configuration in the Music Player tab of the Snakeoil web interface and rebooted ?" ??

Not sure about the line in your boot/config.txt
Code:
start_x=0

This does not appear in mine.  

I did put down the "allo-digione" into the Music Player and rebooted, but it was shown in red, [HW:0,0], and mpd is not started nor I can launch "mpd --version" in command line.

below is from aplay -L 
Code:
null
    Discard all samples (playback) or generate zero samples (capture)
default:CARD=sndallodigione
    snd_allo_digione,
    Default Audio Device
sysdefault:CARD=sndallodigione
    snd_allo_digione,
    Default Audio Device
dmix:CARD=sndallodigione,DEV=0
    snd_allo_digione,
    Direct sample mixing device
dsnoop:CARD=sndallodigione,DEV=0
    snd_allo_digione,
    Direct sample snooping device
hw:CARD=sndallodigione,DEV=0
    snd_allo_digione,
    Direct hardware device without any conversions
plughw:CARD=sndallodigione,DEV=0
    snd_allo_digione,
    Hardware device with all software conversions

I will try to burn a fresh sd card and try from scratch and report back.   Big Grin 

Got this by clicking Cannot start server
Code:
 
**** 2019-03-20T10:57:31
**** MPD (v21)

Executable: cd /var/www;_NAME="allo-digione" _OUTPUT="hw:0,0" _FORMAT="dop" _OPTIONS=""  /var/www/players/mpd-v21/init /var/www/players/mpd-v21 2>&1;/var/www/players/mpd-v21/start /var/www/players/mpd-v21 2>&1;
/var/www/players/mpd-v21/mpd: error while loading shared libraries: libfaad.so.2: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory

Undecided , thanks for any help.
(20-Mar-2019, 10:56 AM)bernardhung Wrote: [ -> ]Got this by clicking Cannot start server

Undecided , thanks for any help. 
Hi Bernard. Did mpd v21 work for you before? It seems to be missing a library now. Can you SSH into the pi, and run the following?

Code:
sudo ldconfig
Pages: 1 2 3 4